Arctic Imperative: First-Ever U.S. Arctic Investment Summit in Alaska June 19-21, 2011

Thursday, March 31, 2011

As the Northeast and the Northwest Passages become navigable, the Bering Strait will become a new choke point for international shipping. The opening of new trans-Arctic navigation routes presents industry and finance with significant opportunities for investment and commerce.

GIRDWOOD, Alaska, April 1, 2011 -, the State's leading source of news and commentary, is
convening business decision-makers interested in participating in the first-
ever domestic investment and policy summit focused on the American Arctic.
The Arctic Imperative: Cooperation, Investment, Development will take place
on June 19-21, 2011 at the Alyeska Resort in the majestic Chugach Mountains,
a short distance from Anchorage, Alaska.

The goal of the summit is to sharpen the world's focus on the policy and
investment needs of Arctic development through a series of high-level
meetings, presentations and investor roundtables. The aim is to expose
business leaders to the opportunities for responsible Arctic investment. To
that end, the summit will convene global leaders representing commerce,
finance and national security to illuminate pertinent issues facing the
Arctic in the following areas:

    - Security
    - Resources
    - Port Development
    - Marine Shipping
    - Telecommunications

The summit will feature two days of presentations, policy and investor
roundtables, and an optional Arctic tour of sites of strategic interest.
Confirmed speakers include:

Admiral Thomas Barrett, USGC (ret.), President, Alyeska Pipeline Service

Mr. Scott Borgerson, Managing Director, CargoMetrics Inc.

Mr. Stephen Carmel, Senior Vice President, Marine Services, Maersk Line,

Mr. Richard Haass, President, Council on Foreign Relations

The Honorable Edward Itta, Mayor, North Slope Borough

Representative Reggie Joule, Chair, Alaska State Legislature Northern
Waters Taskforce

General Joseph Ralston (Ret), Former Supreme Allied Commander of NATO

Mr. Rex Rock, President, Arctic Slope Regional Corporation

Mr. Kenneth Rogoff, Professor of Economics, Harvard University

Mr. David Rubenstein, Managing Director, Carlyle Group

The Honorable Dan Sullivan, Commissioner, Department of Natural
Resources, State of Alaska

The Honorable Mead Treadwell, Lieutenant Governor, State of Alaska

Ms. Fran Ulmer, Chair, United States Arctic Research Commission

Register now on

For more information, including travel and sponsorship opportunities
please contact: or Toll Free from the U.S.:
1-800-380-5337 All other countries: (International Access Code)

Ellaine Legaspi, ellaine at, +1-800-380-5337

will not be displayed