Shipping Honours Heroic Oil-Spill Captain at the 2010 Lloyds List Awards

By Lloyds List, PRNE
Wednesday, September 29, 2010

The Best and Brightest in the Maritime Shipping Industry Were in Attendance to Witness the 2010 Lloyd's List Awards Honouring Excellence in Shipping and to Witness Captain Alwin Landry Pick Up Shipmaster of the Year Award for his Life-Saving Action During the Deepwater Horizon Tragedy

LONDON, September 30, 2010 - The Deepwater Horizon catastrophe resulted in a stream of footage of
environmental damage and justified concerns about when the oil flow would be
stopped. However, that day ended particularly tragically for 11 families who
lost loved ones in the explosion. But for a heroic and quick-thinking sea
captain, the death toll might have been far, far higher.

Last night, Captain Alwin Landry of the ship Damon Bankston was honoured
by Lloyd's List - the world's flagship news, data and information analysis
source for the global maritime industry - at its annual Lloyd's List Awards
ceremony at London's Dorchester Hotel. More than 500 senior executives
attended the gala dinner for a glittering celebration of the best and
brightest talents in maritime shipping.

The Damon Bankston was alongside the rig at the time of the explosion and
subsequent inferno. The quick thinking and direct orders of her Master
brought the ship to a safe distance off the rig where he continued to assist
rescue operations, including deploying his fast rescue boat back to the rig.
The training and trust of his crew plus the efforts of other ships in the
vicinity ensured that all the rig's people, apart from those directly caught
in the blast, were rescued and evacuated to safety.

"The purpose of the Shipmaster of the Year Award is to recognise and
value the ultimate responsibility of the Master for the safety of the ship,
her crew and her cargo as well as the safety of life at sea generally," says
Tom Leander, Editor of Lloyd's List.

"The Master of the Damon Bankston is deserving of the respect and
admiration of his fellow mariners for his professionalism, courage and
leadership and in honouring Captain Landry we acknowledge the bravery and
professional work of his crew," continues Leander.

A total of 14 companies, organisations and individuals were presented
with awards in categories which paid tribute to innovation, courage,
corporate responsibility, business and seafaring skill and lifetime

"At Lloyd's List, we wouldn't have been here for 276 years unless we
respected the best in the industry," says Tom Leander, Editor of Lloyd's
List. "We take pride in rewarding this industry's strong character. This
strength of character - in companies and individuals throughout our industry
- has helped us weather the economic crisis and will continue to serve
maritime shipping well. We are delighted and proud to honour that quality."

Other highlights of the evening were the presentation of the lifetime
achievement award for Dr Martin Stopford of Clarkson Research Services; the
award for Newsmaker of the Year which went to Eivind Kolding, Chief
Executive, Maersk Line; and an award for Gregorio Oca, President of the
Associated Marine Officers and Seamen's Union of the Philippines, who won the
Seafarer of the Year Award which was introduced this year in honour of the
Year of the Seafarer.

"The object of the Seafarer of the Year Award was to recognise an
extraordinary individual that has, through the work of a lifetime, improved
the lives of seafarers. In addition, we thought it appropriate that this
person should be a seafarer, and one who has led an eventful life at sea,"
says Leander. "Gregorio Oco certainly fits the bill."

All 14 awards were chosen by and independent judging panel drawn from
industry associations, academic institutions and private companies.

"We offer our most sincere thanks to all our entrants, sponsors and the
attendees of last night's event - and our hearty congratulations to each and
every one of the 2010 Lloyd's List Global Awards winners," says Leander.

    Photographs available upon request.

    The Winners of the 2010 Lloyd's List Awards

    Port Operator Award (sponsored by TT Club)
    Port of Antwerp

    Classification Society Award
    Lloyd's Register

    The Innovation Award (sponsored by DP World)
    Hook Marine

    Amver-Assisted Rescue at Sea Award (sponsored by Immarsat)
    M/V Overseas Primar

    Safety at Sea Award (sponsored by GNMTC)
    Maersk Tankers and Nadiro

    Corporate Social Responsibility Award (sponsored by APM Terminals)
    Arab Shipbuilding and Repair Yard Company (ASRY)

    Environmental Protection Award (sponsored by Rightship)
    DP World, London Gateway

    The Training Award (sponsored by Admiralty/UKHO)

    Shipmaster of the Year Award
    Captain Alwin Landry

    Ship of the Year Award (sponsored by Drydocks World)
    Oasis of the Seas from STX Finland Oy

    Company of the Year Award

    Newsmaker of the Year Award (sponsored by Lloyd's List)
    Eivind Kolding, Chief Executive, Maersk Line

    Seafarer Award (sponsored by Lloyd's Register)
    Gregorio Oca, president of the Associated Marine Officers and Seamen's
    Union of the Philippines

    Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Lloyd's List)
    Dr Martin Stopford, Clarkson Research Services

About Lloyd's List

Lloyd's List, founded in a London coffee shop by Edward Lloyd and first
published in 1734, is the world's oldest newspaper. Almost three centuries
later, this globally-renowned and highly respected daily newspaper, which is
also available in electronic format, provides round-the-clock maritime,
insurance, logistics, law and energy news, cutting-edge maritime data and
in-depth analysis of the news and information which shapes the maritime
shipping industry.

Kirstin Stocker, +44(0)7716756453 or kirstin.stocker at

will not be displayed