GSMA Elects New Board Members and Franco Bernabe as Chairman

By Gsma, PRNE
Tuesday, December 14, 2010

LONDON, December 15, 2010 - The GSMA today announced that it has elected Franco Bernabe, Chief
Executive Officer of Telecom Italia, as its new Chairman for a two-year term,
from January 2011 through December 2012. As Chairman, he will help oversee
the strategic direction of the GSMA, which represents nearly 800 of the
world's mobile operators, as well as more than 200 companies in the broader
mobile ecosystem. Jon Fredrik Baksaas, President and CEO, Telenor Group, was
elected as Deputy Chairman.

Mr. Bernabe has served as CEO of Telecom Italia since December 2007.
Previously, he held a number of executive positions, including a previous
mandate as CEO of Telecom Italia; Chairman and Founder of FB Group, an
investment company active in the areas of financial advisory and ICT; Vice
Chairman of Rothschild Europe; and CEO of ENI. He has served on the Board of
several major international companies, and is currently a member of the Board
of PetroChina; he is also Co-Chairman of the Italy Brasil Business Council
and Vice Chairman of the Rome Industrialist and Enterprises Association with
special duties for innovation and broadband. Mr. Bernabe earned a degree in
Economics and Political Science from the University of Turin, and started his
professional career in 1976 as senior economist in the Economics and
Statistics Department of OCSE in Paris.

In addition to Mr. Bernabe, Mr. Baksaas and Rob Conway, CEO of the GSMA,
the Board of the GSMA comprises:

    - Alejandro Magana Perez, Vice President, International Relations,
      America Movil

    - William Hague, Executive Vice President - International, AT&T Mobility

    - Jamaludin Ibrahim, Managing Director, President and Group CEO, Axiata
      Group Berhad

    - Sanjay Kapoor, CEO, Bharti Airtel Ltd. (India and South Asia)

    - Sha Yuejia, Executive Director and Vice President, China Mobile

    - Lu Yimin, President, China Unicom

    - Olivier Baujard, Chief Technology Officer, Deutsche Telekom

    - Christian Salbaing, Deputy Chairman, Hutchison Whampoa Europe

    - Hyun-Myung Pyo, President, Mobile Business Group and Member of Board of
      Directors, KT Corporation

    - Alexander Popovskiy, CEO, MTS Russia Business Unit, OJSC Mobile

    - Hannes Ametsreiter, CEO, Telekom Austria Group and A1 Telekom Austria

    - Dr. Kiyoyuki Tsujimura, Senior Executive Vice President and Member of
      Board of Directors, NTT DOCOMO

    - Anne Bouverot, Executive Vice President, Personal LoB and Group
      Devices, France Telecom-Orange

    - Khaled Bichara, Group CEO, Orascom Telecom

    - Dr. Nasser Marafih, Group CEO, Qtel

    - Sung Min Ha, President, Mobile Network Operation Business Unit, SK

    - Napoleon Nazareno, President and CEO, Smart Communications

    - Tetsuzo Matsumoto, Senior Executive Vice President, SoftBank Mobile

    - Anil Kumar Sardana, Managing Director, Tata Teleservices Limited

    - Vivek Dev, Group Director of Global New Services, Telefonica

    - Alexander Izosimov, President and CEO, VimpelCom Ltd.

    - Richard J. Lynch, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology
      Officer, Verizon

    - Steve Pusey, Chief Technology Officer, Vodafone

About the GSMA

The GSMA represents the interests of the worldwide mobile communications
industry. Spanning 219 countries, the GSMA unites nearly 800 of the world's
mobile operators, as well as more than 200 companies in the broader mobile
ecosystem, including handset makers, software companies, equipment providers,
Internet companies, and media and entertainment organisations. The GSMA is
focused on innovating, incubating and creating new opportunities for its
membership, all with the end goal of driving the growth of the mobile
communications industry.

For more information, please visit Mobile World Live, the new online
portal for the mobile communications industry, at or the GSMA corporate website at

Daniel Lowther, +44-7747-636-687, press at

will not be displayed