UT Southwestern Medical Center and Rabin Medical Center, Israel Announce Groundbreaking Joint Agreement

By Ut Southwestern Medical Center, PRNE
Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Five-year affiliation calls for two leading medical centers to collaborate on research, best practices, student and faculty exchange programs

DALLAS, December 15, 2010 - UT Southwestern Medical Center and Rabin Medical Center, Israel, two of
the world's top academic medical centers, announced today that they have
entered into an innovative affiliation agreement for the next five years.

The internationally recognized institutions will collaborate on faculty
and student exchange programs, as well as the development of joint studies,
research and training activities, and other educational programs of mutual

"This agreement between UT Southwestern at Dallas and Rabin Medical
Center in Israel represents an exciting new era of cooperation, research and
teaching for both of our institutions and our two countries," said Dr. Daniel
K. Podolsky

president of UT Southwestern Medical Center.

"Rabin Medical Center and UT Southwestern believe that international
understanding and educational opportunities for students, post-graduate
trainees and faculty will be greatly enhanced by international academic and
scientific cooperation," said Dr. Eyran Halpern, CEO of Rabin Medical Center,
which is located just east of Tel Aviv.

Dr. Podolsky announced the affiliation agreement on the UT Southwestern
campus, where he was joined by Dr. Greg Fitz
executive vice president for academic affairs and provost, and dean of UT
Southwestern Medical School, and Dr. Joseph Hill
chief of cardiology and director of the Harry S. Moss Heart Center at UT

Dr. Halpern was accompanied by Dr. David Hasdai, director of the Cardiac
Care Unit at Rabin Medical Center and professor of cardiology at Tel Aviv
Sackler School of Medicine and Mrs. Judit Solel, head of the
Office for Development.

Also present was Wendeline Jongenburger, director of UT Southwestern's
Office of Global Health. The newly established office reflects one of the
university's strategic priorities and is headed by Dr. Fiemu Nwariaku
associate dean for global health and associate professor of surgery. UT
Southwestern recently entered into an affiliation agreement with Sun Yat-sen
University and First Affiliated Hospital in Guangzhou, China, to foster
scientific training between the institutions.

In celebration of this strategic collaboration, Rabin Medical Center will
fund a fellowship to be awarded to a student selected by UT Southwestern to
attend RMC.

Established in 1996 in memory of the late Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin by
combining two existing hospitals, Rabin Medical Center has Israel's only
dedicated transplant facilities capable of performing kidney, lung, heart and
liver transplants. Rabin Medical Center's Cardiothoracic Surgery Department
and its Oncology Institute are the largest in the country, and its heliport
and Level 1 Trauma Center provide vital emergency services throughout the

Founded in 1943, UT Southwestern Medical Center has had four Nobel Prizes
awarded to its faculty since 1985. In the 2010-2011 edition of U.S. News &
World Report's Americas Best Hospitals, UT Southwestern is nationally ranked
in six specialty-care areas: urology, diabetes/endocrinology, gynecology,
kidney disorders, neurology and neurosurgery, and ear, nose and throat. The
medical center is also among the nation's best performers in biology and
biochemistry research in achieving clinical breakthroughs.

The joint agreement calls for UT Southwestern and Rabin to collaborate

    - Joint research conferences and symposia;
    - Reciprocal exchange of students, post-graduate trainees or faculty in
      the areas of medicine, nursing, collaborative research projects,
      exchange of publications, reports or other academic information;
    - Exchange of cooperation regarding the organization, delivery and
      management of health care services; and
    - Professional development.

This is the first agreement between UT Southwestern and Rabin Medical
Center, and it is extensive in that it covers aspects ranging from joint
development of intellectual property, joint publication of research and
special assistance for participating students, researchers and faculty in
securing required visas, work permits and housing in both countries.

The new program takes effect Dec. 15, 2010, and continues through Dec.
15, 2015
, and annually thereafter if both institutions choose not to opt out
of the agreement.

This news release is available on our World Wide Web home page at

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail,
subscribe at www.utsouthwestern.edu/receivenews.

About Rabin Medical Center

Rabin Medical Center is at the forefront of Israel's health care system,
and is a major referral center for patients from Israel and beyond.
Affiliated with the Tel Aviv University-Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Rabin
Medical Center is a prestigious teaching hospital six miles east of Tel Aviv,
ranking among the top choices of Israeli medical school graduates for
internship, residency and fellowship placements. Founded in 1996 in memory of
the late Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin, Rabin Medical Center was formed by
merging two existing hospitals, Beilinson (1936) and HaSharon (1942). With a
staff of 4,500 employees and medical professionals, the center sees 1 million
patients annually and performs 35,000 surgical procedures and 8,500 births.
For more information, visit www.clalit.org.il/rabin/defaulteng.asp.

About UT Southwestern Medical Center

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas ranks among
the top academic medical centers in the world. With four Nobel Prizes awarded
to its faculty since 1985, UT Southwestern is recognized internationally for
its dedication to teaching and biomedical research advances. Three
degree-granting institutions comprise the medical center, which was founded
in 1943: UT Southwestern Medical School, UT Southwestern Graduate School of
Biomedical Sciences and UT Southwestern School of Health Professions. With a
staff of about 11,000 employees and medical professionals, the center sees
about 1.9 million patients annually and trains nearly 4,400 medical, graduate
and allied health students, residents and postdoctoral fellows each year. For
more information, visit www.utsouthwestern.edu.

Dr Fitz holds the Nadine and Tom Craddick Distinguished Chair in Medical
Science and the Atticus James Gill, M.D., Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Hill holds the James T. Willerson, M.D., Distinguished Chair in
Cardiovascular Diseases and the Frank M. Ryburn Jr. Chair in Heart Research.

Dr. Nwariaku holds the Malcolm O. Perry, M.D., Professorship in Surgery.

Dr. Podolsky holds the Philip O'Bryan Montgomery Jr., M.D., Distinguished
Presidential Chair in Academic Administration and the Doris and Bryan
Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.

UT Southwestern Medical Center: Russell Rian, +1-214-648-3404, russell.rian at utsouthwestern.edu; or Rabin Medical Center: Stan Levenson, Levenson Brinker Public Relations, +1-214-932-6076 o, +1-214-384-5507 m, s.levenson at levensonbrinkerpr.com

Health News

December 15 News

will not be displayed