Incoming State Attorneys General Association President McKenna and FTC Consumer Protection Director Vladeck to Address Online Protection at MAAWG

By Messaging Anti-abuse Working Group maawg, PRNE
Sunday, January 30, 2011

Global Gathering Tackles Cybersecurity Policy, Technology, Mobile and Social Platforms

SAN FRANCISCO, January 31, 2011 - Rob McKenna, the incoming president of the National Association of
Attorneys General (NAAG), and David Vladeck, head of the U.S. consumer
protection bureau, will both keynote the Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group
(MAAWG) meeting in February, which will focus on protecting consumers in an
evolving cyber future. The four-day, multi-track event will explore the
latest strategies to thwart spam and online threats in sessions organized
around global public policy, technology updates, collaboration, industry
training and best practices development.

(Logo: )

The 21st MAAWG meeting, Feb. 21-24 in Orlando, Fla., will bring together
top messaging and security experts from around the world. Other speakers
include US Internet Service Provider Association (USISPA) Executive Director
Kate Dean on upcoming cybersecurity legislation and experts discussing
European and Canadian legislation and public policy developments. Other
panels will feature researchers on current botnet assessments and the latest
spam metrics. Specialists will address social abuse, mobile anti-abuse
techniques, IPv6, assisting phished users, authentication, and blocklists.
MAAWG also will be working with network operators at the meeting to begin
compiling the industry's first report of bot metrics generated directly from

The meeting will open with several technical training sessions.
Professional courses will cover mobile architecture and abuse scenarios, spam
traps and honeypots, implementing DNSSec, and crimeware attribution.

On Feb. 22, McKenna, who is the incoming NAAG president and currently
Washington state attorney general, will discuss his hands-on activities to
protect consumers in cyberspace. He has received several awards for his
online safety work, was named in 2008 as one of the most influential people
in the security industry, and has been an Aspen Institute Rodel Fellow in
Public Leadership since 2006.

Vladeck, director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection of the Federal
Trade Commission, will address MAAWG on Feb. 23. The bureau under Vladeck's
management has aggressively targeted spammers and consumer cyber threats, and
is also focusing on mobile and social media abuse.

MAAWG continues to grow in membership and breadth adding a third track of
sessions on Tuesday to accommodate the demand to address evolving
cybersecurity issues, according to MAAWG Chairman Michael O'Reirdan. MAAWG
holds three meetings each year, including a European meeting that will be in
Paris this October.

"With online messaging expanding into social media, mobile and other
platforms, MAAWG members are working extremely hard to protect consumers.
These meetings are a unique opportunity to collaborate with industry
colleagues from around the world. International cooperation is the only way
to address this international problem," O'Reirdan said.

About the Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group (MAAWG)

The Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group (MAAWG) is where the messaging
industry comes together to work against spam, viruses, denial-of-service
attacks and other online exploitation. MAAWG (
represents more than one billion mailboxes from some of the largest network
operators worldwide. It is the only organization addressing messaging abuse
holistically by systematically engaging all aspects of the problem, including
technology, industry collaboration and public policy. MAAWG leverages the
depth and experience of its global membership to tackle abuse on existing
networks and new emerging services. It also works to educate global policy
makers on the technical and operational issues related to online abuse and
messaging. Headquartered in San Francisco, Calif., MAAWG is an open forum
driven by market needs and supported by major network operators and messaging

Media Contact: Linda Marcus, APR, +1-714-974-6356,, Astra

MAAWG Board of Directors: AOL; AT&T (NYSE: T); Bank of America;
Cloudmark, Inc.; Comcast (NASDAQ: CMCSA); Cox Communications; Eloqua; France
Telecom (NYSE and Euronext: FTE); Goodmail Systems; Openwave Systems (NASDAQ:
OPWV); PayPal; Return Path, Inc.; Time Warner Cable; Verizon Communications;
and Yahoo! Inc.

MAAWG Full Members: 1&1 Internet AG; Antevenio; Apple Inc.; Cisco
Systems, Inc.; Constant Contact (CTCT); e-Dialog; Edatis; Email Sender and
Provider Coalition; Experian CheetahMail;; Internet Initiative
Japan, (IIJ NASDAQ: IIJI); McAfee Inc.; Scality; Spamhaus; Sprint; Symantec;
Trend Micro, Inc.; YouSendIt; and Zynga, Inc.

A complete member list is available at

Linda Marcus, APR, +1-714-974-6356, LMarcus at, Astra Communications

will not be displayed